sharetrader
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default Ridiculous fees charged by ASB securities

I'm relatively new to share trading, but i signed up to ASB securities and purchased about 10,500 worth of VTS on the ASX.

I then log into my account and find I have essentially been charged a margin of 3% for the currency conversion. How ridiculous is that?

On the rates and fees part of the website it says Aus trades cost 0.3% then down the bottom in small writing it says ASB MAY receive margin income on foreign exchange transactions - but gives no indication of the cost.

People trade currency all the time and pay like 2 pip or 3 dollarsish on a 10k transaction, no way in hell did i think i would incur a 300 dollar fee. Now this investment will have to outperform an NZ investment by 3% for me to get any worth from it.

Has anyone had a similar experience to this? How do you avoid these ridiculous fees if you wish to trade on international markets?

I have an AUD based FX account with them via ASB securities, only have to initially fund the account then can settle any buy/sell to the AUD account.
    No matter who you are with, if you are transferring from NZ to AUD and back will cost you plenty, you are effectively trading the currency as well as the share to an extent

Quote Originally Posted by Jay View Post
    I have an AUD based FX account with them via ASB securities, only have to initially fund the account then can settle any buy/sell to the AUD account.
    Is it the same premise as opening a new fastsaver/on call savings account?

I've looked at opening one before but was unsure of what hoops I would have to jump through to open it.

Quote Originally Posted by Okebw View Post
    Is it the same premise as opening a new fastsaver/on call savings account?

I've looked at opening one before but was unsure of what hoops I would have to jump through to open it.