PDA

View Full Version : ETFs and passive funds for beginners...

MJA
15-01-2015, 08:20 PM
I'm an absolute beginner in the world of investing, and I'm thinking that a passive fund/ ETF would be a good idea to start with. Any suggestions? I've had a look at the Smartshares ETFs. I'd also consider an actively managed fund but I'm not sure how to choose one. I have about $5,000 to invest.

Okebw
15-01-2015, 09:06 PM
I'm an absolute beginner in the world of investing, and I'm thinking that a passive fund/ ETF would be a good idea to start with. Any suggestions? I've had a look at the Smartshares ETFs. I'd also consider an actively managed fund but I'm not sure how to choose one. I have about $5,000 to invest.

The smartshare EFTS are pretty pricey considering how little effort is actually put in by the managers.
Personally I prefer the ASX listed vanguard funds for diversifiction. You get a lot more choice as well as a much smaller management fee

Harvey Specter
15-01-2015, 10:27 PM
For $5k, might not be worth the effort to look at the cheaper overseas EFTs.

My recommendation:
- buy one of the smart shares.
- set up a monthly deposit (how many listed shares can you do that with. One of their best features imho)
- start monitoring the market
- as your investment grows, consider if you want to take an active or passive approach. If still passive, consider some of the overseas funds (either active or passive). (Passive doesn't mean you do nothing, you still need to consider the best fund to be in.)

MJA
16-01-2015, 06:41 AM
For $5k, might not be worth the effort to look at the cheaper overseas EFTs.

My recommendation:
- buy one of the smart shares.
- set up a monthly deposit (how many listed shares can you do that with. One of their best features imho)
- start monitoring the market