PDA

View Full Version : Shares as income

Lewylewylewy
22-03-2016, 11:10 PM
I'm relatively new at share trading/investing, and while i find it relatively easy to pick winners and trends, my approach to formulating a consistent strategy is immature.

I was intrigued by something fungus pudding suggested to me about developing a portfolio of reits, which I could accumulate over time to use as an income source. I really liked the idea of this, but am concerned about the natural ebbs in the share market.

So I decided to develop a portfolio of about $50k in which I could invest to accumulate to about $150k in order to develop a dividend income with which to boulster my retirement income. This would support my super and rental income from an additional property I own.

My problem is that I'm 34 years old, and statistically speaking, I'm almost certainly due at least one massive market crash in my life.

My nature is such that I love the idea of a passive income, but feel like there's no such thing. Am I asking for trouble investing in reits then burying my head in the nice, warm sand?

Perhaps if be better off sticking to a highly mobile portfolio that I can use to generate money to buy rental property?

I'd love to hear the opinions of some investors who've weathered market storms such as those in 1987 and 2008. Particularly Percy, if you would be willing to share?

BeeBop
22-03-2016, 11:50 PM
I have been through market storms. The only time I was hit was via my employers retirement fund where I had no control. By the time I left the company it had recovered to a degree.