PDA

View Full Version : Help for a new guy

simjp81
18-02-2017, 10:01 PM
Hi everyone

I am new to investing, and was wondering if I should buy say 4 stocks at 2k each or a couple of ETF's at 4k each. DIV MDZ or FNZ.

Any thoughts or lessons learned?

JeremyALD
18-02-2017, 10:29 PM
Hi everyone

I am new to investing, and was wondering if I should buy say 4 stocks at 2k each or a couple of ETF's at 4k each. DIV MDZ or FNZ.

You're very unlikely to make much with 8K in ETFs - at best 30% over a year. It is a low risk way to go though so you're not likely to ever lose too much.

Shares could be a way to go, but brokerage kills you a bit on small buy volume. For example buying 2K worth of shares will result in a buy fee of $30 with ASB securities, then another $30 to sell. That means you have to make 3% on 2K just to cover fees.

I'd say investing in four different companies is a better way to learn to begin with then going in ETFs. You can also buy more if you like the company later on.

simjp81
18-02-2017, 10:37 PM
Thanks. Any experience with Craigs mySTART.

simjp81
18-02-2017, 11:10 PM
You're very unlikely to make much with 8K in ETFs - at best 30% over a year. It is a low risk way to go though so you're not likely to ever lose too much.

Shares could be a way to go, but brokerage kills you a bit on small buy volume. For example buying 2K worth of shares will result in a buy fee of $30 with ASB securities, then another $30 to sell. That means you have to make 3% on 2K just to cover fees.

I'd say investing in four different companies is a better way to learn to begin with then going in ETFs. You can also buy more if you like the company later on.

Any suggestions on the first 4 stocks.

JeremyALD
18-02-2017, 11:18 PM
Any suggestions on the first 4 stocks.

I suggest to do your own research as it really depends what you're looking for. If you're looking to learn better to pick your own companies. You learn best from your mistakes and good picks.