PDA

View Full Version : Overseas investments and NZ tax

NZT
29-10-2017, 08:45 AM
Hi,

I am looking to purchase some stocks on NYSE, NASDAQ, HKEX, etc. and am looking to understand what that means from an annual tax return in New Zealand perspective.

Somebody recently told me that if I buy overseas stock, and keep it for a year or longer (as in, don't day trade it) - than I am not subject to Capital Gains Tax in NZ. Is this true?
And the only tax I would need to pay would be ONLY any dividends - and this tax rate would according to my PIR rate in NZ.

Would appreciate if someone could shed some light on this.

Thank you,
NZT

29-10-2017, 09:00 AM
Well I am no tax expert and you should familiarise yourself with FIF details off the IRD site.

The "somebody" is talking BS. A reason why you should get proper advice.

In general though you are only required to to pay tax on dividends received from overseas companies unless you invest more than $50,000, in which case you will fall under the FIF regime and have to pay tax on 5% of your investment each year. It is a little bit more complicated than this but you can look that up yourself. Should you be investing via a Trust then the $50,000 minimus does not apply and you are under the FIF regime straight away.

The Tax rate would be your marginal tax rate and not PIR rate.

Get it right from the start as it will save a lot of trouble down track.

It is worth doing a read up and then paying for an hours professional advice.

kiwico
31-10-2017, 01:46 PM
I agree with 777 - the IRD website is the place to go for understanding the FIF regime for investing offshore (other than most shares on the ASX).

However some shares on the ASX are subject to the FIF regime; if the share is a stapled security or if the company does not apply franking credits these will also count towards your $50,000 (or $0 if trading as a company or trust).

NZT
31-10-2017, 08:21 PM
So, I spoke to an accountant.