PDA

View Full Version : Dead Cat bounce?

HKG2301
05-05-2020, 05:29 PM
OK, so I'm relatively new to the NZ market, investing in the NZX less than a year. It's still not clear to me how much we're driven by the US markets, but assuming there's a link (at least during Covid), should we not be calling this a Dead Cat Bounce and preparing for a re-test of the March lows? That's certainly on the cards for the US markets, especially if they've badly mis-timed their Covid 're-opening', which is likely. Will our market ignore another 20% drop in the US markets, or should we be battening down the hatches as well?

ynot
06-05-2020, 08:44 AM
OK, so I'm relatively new to the NZ market, investing in the NZX less than a year. It's still not clear to me how much we're driven by the US markets, but assuming there's a link (at least during Covid), should we not be calling this a Dead Cat Bounce and preparing for a re-test of the March lows? That's certainly on the cards for the US markets, especially if they've badly mis-timed their Covid 're-opening', which is likely. Will our market ignore another 20% drop in the US markets, or should we be battening down the hatches as well?

Billion dollar question. Nobody knows.l

blackcap
06-05-2020, 08:50 AM

Why would there be another 20% drop in US markets? Surely the best predictor of future US market prices is today's price? What do you know that all other market participants in the US do not know? Like ynot said, its really is the $m question. No one knows what tomorrow's prices will bring.

Entrep
06-05-2020, 12:22 PM
Surely the best predictor of future US market prices is today's price? Equally as valid for 23 March and look where we are

blackcap
06-05-2020, 12:27 PM
Equally as valid for 23 March and look where we are

It certainly is. But you cannot tell me that you know for certain or are even positively sure which direction markets are going to take tommorrow or next week.

ynot
06-05-2020, 12:33 PM