PDA

View Full Version : Traders - Forming a company or another account?

Dazza
13-01-2005, 09:41 PM
Alrite, im sure most traders started off as investors right.

Well im thinking about trading for a bit... and debating about if i should have a trading account or form a company as most traders do.

I could go and do some research etc, but hey i thought ST has a lot of well informed kind hearted people that would show a newbie whats what :D

now current situation is, im a uni student, working though aswell and i can probably save... 5k a year maybe...

Current finanaces is about... $13k in shares.

now could someone tell me a bit about companies?
i know they have to file annual reports how much?
initial setting up of a company = $50? correct?
what are the on going fees - annually off course - and can we claim them back?

what can we claim back? and what cant we?

are all tax = 39%???
i mean if so.. wouldnt it be better to start of as another account paying what 20% tax? - note income for the year = under 20k

whats the minimum capital we need? $5000 maybe?

any information would be great thanks.

Dazza
13-01-2005, 10:12 PM
also... could someone tell me what the capital tax is on trades?

if my income from wages is less than $20k a year..

thanks in advance

Snow Leopard
14-01-2005, 06:37 AM
Given your income level then I would have thought that you should trade as an individual and be taxed at 19.5% as opposed to a company at 33%. The trick is to separate your trading activities from your investing activities (so that hopefully you can pay 0% on investment capital gains) to the satisafaction of the tax man. Just about everyone on this site who has asked how to do this has received a different answer and the IRD are happy not to make a definitive ruling. A separate trading account and a different registration name for the shares would help.

OldRider
14-01-2005, 08:15 AM