PDA

View Full Version : reading annual reports

hills
02-05-2005, 10:07 AM
Hi there I am studying accounting and need to make sense of some NZ annual reports so i can make an investment decision, any help on understanding the financial stuff would be awesome.
Cheers
Hilary[8)]

thereslifeafter87
02-05-2005, 11:35 AM
Get some reports.

Read them.

Then get some more reports, and read them too.

Eventually a pattern emerges.

Have fun! :)

Also, have a look on some of the other investment strategy threads for recommendations of books about investing, and also tips on annual reports.

Westie
02-05-2005, 03:15 PM
if you are starting out, then i'd recommend Fridson & Alvarez "Financial Statement Analysis" as a good introductory read.

whiteheron
02-05-2005, 04:57 PM
hills

If you are studying accounting that will be a good start , most likely puts you ahead of most of the bunch

Look beyond the individual financial report that you are considering , look at the big picture as well and dont take all information in annual reports as read , remember that the directors will be trying to dress things up as best they can

blackcap
03-05-2005, 04:37 PM
and you sometimes find interesting tidbits in the notes.

Allan
25-05-2005, 11:29 AM
Your question was about making an investment decision, I have read reports and found it heavy going, and slow. This sounds a little simplistic, but I have taken the advice, find a share thats going up and buy it.The same sage also said dont worry what the market is doing worry about what your shares are doing. Buy the time one report has been read and anaylised,the trends on 100's of shares can be studied.

Snoopy
26-05-2005, 07:14 PM
quote:Originally posted by Allan