PDA

View Full Version : MEANING OF TEN BAGGER --Discussion

whiteheron
02-03-2006, 09:17 PM
The definition of a TEN BAGGER is "a stock whose value increases ten times"

The expression was originated by Peter Lynch , one of the greatest investors of all time

So far , so good --- but nowhere can I find any really meangingful reference to the time period allowed to score a ten bagger
A year would seem most unlikely , except in the most extreme of cases
A decade maybe --- this would seem pretty damm good
Fifty years --- one would probably expect any reasonable stock to be a ten bagger in this time , given good returns , compounding , inflation etc

So a simplistic statement does not , in my opinion , address the matter fully ( and I wont be around for another 50 years for that option anyway )

So far I have been investing ( and trading ) for under 4 years and have achieved less than a handful of 2 to 3+ baggers , and one real " bugger "

I would like to hear what others have to say on this subject

Halebop
02-03-2006, 09:47 PM
As you allude, I think the term is irrelevent without a timeframe.

I've enjoyed just 1 ten bagger in 20+ years of investing. It might have been something more like a 20 or 30 bagger but took around a decade to realize and several additional purchases along the way muddied the final return calculations.

Given an "Oustanding" long term investment might generate 20% per annum, it's quite a reach to achieve a 10 bagger over even a decade. So I suspect the term just resonates more with an individual than actually being any useful benchmark.

If someone can beat some meaningful benchmarks like an index they should be well satisfied. My targets include beating the All Ords and NZX year on year, beating inflation and an absolute (positive) return.

Mick100
04-03-2006, 10:07 PM
I had one last yr and have another couple getting close - all from 2003 investments