PDA

View Full Version : Independent Advise

Financially dependant
26-11-2007, 11:57 AM
Hi All,

I am new to share investing so interested in your thoughts on the best place to subscribe to an independent regular news letter?

Hommel
26-11-2007, 12:26 PM
I subscribe to Market Analysis from James Cornell (www.stockmarket.co.nz). Like any newsletter there will be useful things in it for you but I just use it as one of my research tools. Intersuisse website has heaps of good free info and company analysis (www.intersuisse.com.au). If you use a full service broker they will give you free access to heaps of company research. There is so much free stuff on the internet nowadays if you search around. There are also several forums such as this one, but be very careful of what you assume to be fact in what people post. Good luck and good investing.

Hommel
26-11-2007, 12:28 PM
Another thing... be very careful of blindly following share brokers advice. They often have their own motives for wanting you to buy shares in a particular company. I have learned this the hard way....

dmdmdm
26-11-2007, 02:20 PM
i am also inexperianced at the sharemarket and have been blindly following my full service brokers advice, it all seems to have gone ok so far, but would you mind explaining what you mean by having there own motives.

Hommel
26-11-2007, 02:53 PM
When they are the broker for a new float on the market they will want to sell their clients as many of the shares as possible, even though it may be that the broker personally does not think they are a good investment at that time. I have found that most new floats over the last few years have been better buying later than they were at the time of issue.
Also they usually get paid by the number of transactions you make. Notice how most brokers will tell you to buy but hardly ever do they tell you to sell as they don't want to "upset" companies that have paid them alot of money to float their shares to the public.

dmdmdm