PDA

View Full Version : Linc Energy (LNC): emerging UCG company

tommy
12-05-2008, 02:23 AM
By nature I am a tech-oriented fundamentalist investor, but couldn't find any companies that tickle my fancy for a while, so I have been primarily momentum-trading risky options of speccy stocks in fertilizer sector. Not my style really... but hey, better than earning 7% interest in an online bank account.

But hey, I have finally found one that deserves some attention, so let me start babbling about Linc Energy (LNC).

"Linc Energy Ltd is an Australia-based energy company engaged in the development and commercialization of underground coal gasification (UCG) technology, and the further exploration of the opportunity to combine UCG and gas to liquid (GTL) technologies. As of June 30, 2006, Linc Energy holds 14 coal lease tenements in Queensland under exploration permits for coal (EPC) and a mineral development license (MDL). The Company's properties have combined inferred and indicated resources of 581 million tons of coal. Linc Energy produces syngas (manufactured gas) at its Chinchilla site (MDL 309) to produce liquid fuels, such as diesel and jet fuels, and generate electricity. The Chinchilla project has an estimated indicated coal resource of 16 million tons in the area immediately surrounding the UCG gasification field. In May 2006, Newtron Pty Ltd held 62.79% of the Company's share capital. In October 2007, the Company acquired a 60% controlling interest in Yerostigaz in Uzbekistan. "

Number of shares: 389.6 million
Current price: $2.12
Market cap: About 825 million (I think, not aware of options???)

Company website:
http://www.lincenergy.com.au/

So, WTF is UCG?? Check this out:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Underground_Coal_Gasification

In particular:
Economics: