PDA

View Full Version : Options

nzambition
10-06-2008, 07:30 PM
Who here trades options?

What on? and Who with?

I'm thinking about opening an account with optionsXpress, I have done some currency options with Tricom, but I'm looking to cut my teeth in equity options...

Any advice? good websites?

nzambition
11-06-2008, 11:15 PM
ok did some research and found:

optionsXpress
www.optionsxpress.com
OIC options industry council
www.optionseducation.org
options insider
www.theoptionsinsider.com

is there any bench mark for optionsXpress??

Technical.Trader
01-07-2008, 11:37 AM
I have been advising on ASX Equities and ETOs for the last 3 years so I can help or point you in the right direction. I am not current;y working for any firm so can give you an unbiased opinion.

TT...

nzambition
08-07-2008, 06:20 PM
who do you use to trade?

what are the commissions like? is it easy to get cash in/out of the account?

what strategies do you use?
I've had a look over some of the strategies like bear/bull spreads, straddles, covered call writing, long puts/calls... They're easy enough to understand and figure how to use (in hindsight) - but would be cool to hear what sort of strategy you take with options trading... or your thoughts on what a seasoned share investor, but options beginner, should try...

many thanks!

Technical.Trader
09-07-2008, 03:40 PM
Hi NZAmbition

As mentioned I m setting up a stockbroking business and expect to be up and running later this month or early August. Please PM me for details.

In relation to your other questions the answers very much depend upon your investment strategy, because for every advantage an option strategy has, there is a trade off.

Some rules of thumb I like to use when advising my clients and things I have learnt from my many mistakes:

When Buying Options stick to Long Dated (Expiry at least 9 months away) Out of the Money Options (20-30% away).