PDA

View Full Version : FIF Quick Sale Rule

mike8
06-10-2008, 06:48 PM
Hi all, I'm new to this, joined today.
Just a few questions....I trade US etf's, usually the same few, but about 30 trades a year, I have gone over the $50k threshold limit, and was wondering if there is anyone you can suggest for doing returns or just understanding the complexities of it all. Some small firms are just not interested. I am in the Pukekohe area.
Secondly, If I traded this often in NZ, would I be liable for tax anyway.
Cheers

Aussie
06-10-2008, 09:30 PM
mike8, this whole FIF thing is such a PITA . . . I had to switch accountants to a much larger, more expensive firm just to deal with all of this ridiculous crap and I am still confused.

shasta
07-10-2008, 01:12 PM
Hi all, I'm new to this, joined today.
Just a few questions....I trade US etf's, usually the same few, but about 30 trades a year, I have gone over the $50k threshold limit, and was wondering if there is anyone you can suggest for doing returns or just understanding the complexities of it all. Some small firms are just not interested. I am in the Pukekohe area.
Secondly, If I traded this often in NZ, would I be liable for tax anyway.
Cheers

That many trades means "probably yes".

Remember the 50k threshold is on the cost price of the equities.

Check out this thread in the Investment Strategies section

http://www.sharetrader.co.nz/showthread.php?t=5964

mike8
07-10-2008, 02:09 PM
That many trades means "probably yes".

Remember the 50k threshold is on the cost price of the equities.

Check out this thread in the Investment Strategies section

http://www.sharetrader.co.nz/showthread.php?t=5964

Thanks for that Shasta, looks like I'm not alone.