PDA

View Full Version : Withholding tax on dividends

drew
28-04-2009, 09:09 PM
Hi all

Im new to sharetrader and love the site and the discussions.

I have a question about withholding taxes on dividends. I own shares in the US personally and through a company with ASB Securities.

I noticed on my latest dividend statements tax has been withheld at 30% and i was under the impression that the NZ/US double tax treaty limited this to 15%. Has anyone encountered this issue with ASB or their own brokers?

Appreciate any comments on this.

Drew

shasta
28-04-2009, 09:22 PM
Hi all

Im new to sharetrader and love the site and the discussions.

I have a question about withholding taxes on dividends. I own shares in the US personally and through a company with ASB Securities.

I noticed on my latest dividend statements tax has been withheld at 30% and i was under the impression that the NZ/US double tax treaty limited this to 15%. Has anyone encountered this issue with ASB or their own brokers?

Appreciate any comments on this.

Drew

Under the rules for double tax treaty countries, you will be limited to claiming the maximum amount allowable under the country you reside in.

So US dividends having with-holding credits are claimable to the same extent as if you were taxed in NZ.

You may well be "overtaxed" in this instance & may be due a refund in your tax return.

This may help you

http://taxpolicy.ird.govt.nz/international/DTA/index.html

drew
28-04-2009, 09:32 PM
Hi Shasta thanks for the quick response!

Agree in my personal account I can claim the taxes as a foreign tax credits.

The company however will be paying NZ tax under the FDR method and since the dividends are exempt the taxes withheld on the dividends can not be claimed as foreign tax credits.