PDA

View Full Version : Breakout trading - Misguided?

AMR
02-06-2009, 10:33 PM
Hi all,

I have just read some backtested literature (Katz and McCormick) which found that breakouts have become progressively worse over the last decades. Markets are more efficient and produce a lot more fakeouts according to them.

Does anyone here trade solely on breakouts? Any thoughts?

My best trade ever was a breakout to form a new high and I had previously considered them to be a future bread and butter technique when I started trading again.

STRAT
03-06-2009, 04:38 AM
Hi AMR.
Too much like hard work. Glued to the screen every day. Everyone talks about big gains but those gains should be devided into the hours spent too.
I do get a kick out of finding such a stock before it breaks though :D

wbosher
03-06-2009, 09:27 AM
So with the market now seemingly going pretty well, looking for potential breakouts could be a good idea?

What are some of the things that we should be looking for in the current market?

I've noticed a quite few stocks lately that broke out a month or two ago (very strongly) and seem to be taking a breather now, is it a good idea to be watching these with a view of going up further or is it a better idea to concentrate on steady upward trends?

Phaedrus
03-06-2009, 11:04 AM
Breakouts have become progressively worse over the last decades. Nothing is as good as it was, AMR. Whatever happened to the crispy bacon we used to get before the war? Markets do move a lot faster now and techniques need to suit current conditions. For example, the default RSI period was set years ago at 14 days, but most people accept that a shorter period such as 8 days is perhaps more relevant now.

My best trade ever was a breakout...Doesn't that say it all? You would be foolish to ignore one of the better TA buy signals simply because some people claim that breakouts are not as good as they used to be.