PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question

Dannyboy
03-06-2009, 08:52 PM
Hi, I'm a noob with a question.

I haven't got a enough $ to buy property and I've done the term deposit thing a few years back when the rates where about 8+% and the current rates are a bit ho-hum.

So over the last month, I've decided to take a risk and invest in shares. So I've set up online share trading with the National Bank and brought shares each of FBU, AIA & TEL. Already my portfolio is up 5.7%.

My question, I received a letter from Computershare advising me of my FIN number. What is this for?

Dan.

Jay
03-06-2009, 09:14 PM
Welcome DB

The FIN number is like a PIN number on your cash card. You need it, along with the CSN number when you wish to sell the shares.

Good luck with your investing.

Ponda
12-06-2009, 08:13 AM
Hi all,
Being a cold miserable Friday I thought that I'd ask the below question
I often hear the comment of 'going long' and 'going short' what do these refer to?
This is my understanding.

To go long means that you see a share that you want to buy, company XYZ, at $5.00. You pay your $5.00 and get the share. If the price goes to $5.50 you have made 50 cents. So you are effectively saying that you believe that the shareprice is going to rise in value.

To go short means that you see a share that you think is going to decrease in value, company ABC. At this point you don't own the share, however you sell it (i.e. nothing) at $5.00 you wait until it drops in value to $4.50 and then you buy it. You then make your 50 cents per share.

Is that what 'to go long' and 'to go short' means?
Thanks for any replies

Phaedrus
12-06-2009, 08:27 AM
Yes, that's pretty much it, Ponda. Technically, you are not really selling "nothing" though - you are actually selling shares that you have in fact "borrowed" from a holder. Sooner or later, they have to be repaid.

When, as per your example, you Buy the stock at $4.50, closing out the trade, it is called "covering" the short.

Ponda