PDA

View Full Version : Starting out - tax nonsense

theArtfuldodger
21-09-2009, 10:48 AM
Hey guys!

I'm quite possibly the biggest noob on this forum so please, bear with me.

I'm only a second year accounting student (19yo) and my studies have got me interested in the sharemarket and investment (I knew very little about any of this stuff until a year or so ago). I have very little capital (I'm working on this), so I'm using this time to get into some theory, literature etc on these topics. So far it has proved very exciting!

I've trawled through the information on this forum (all extremely helpful, this forum is great!) to find information on the various taxes (IRD site = impossible to decipher) and this is my summary:

Capital gains:

- As a trader (short-term profit orientated) = capital gains are taxed (on realization);
- As an investor (long-term) = no capital gains tax;

Dividends:

- Are taxed (what rate in NZ?) depending on imputation (not 100% sure how this works?).

General:

- Until my income exceeds 70k, I am better off trading as an individual, rather than using a company structure because of the lower tax rate for individuals (until this threshold is breached) and unrealized capital gains do not have to be disclosed/taxed.

Questions:

- What is the deal with capital gains and FIF's?
(also - MEGA NOOB QUESTION - I take it a FIF is simply a fund used for the purpose of investing offshore?)

- Can brokerage fees be used to offset tax liability (in the case of trading)?

- Are company set-up costs, buying equipment (I'm talking stationary here) all tax deductible? (because my capital base is so small and brokerage fees so high (relatively), I'm afraid of any profits being wiped out, so I want to claim as much as possible).

- If I borrow (not substantially), the interest I am charged is tax-deducitble?

- Is this general summary correct?