PDA

View Full Version : Cheapest brokers?

AshNZ
23-01-2010, 05:48 PM
Hi

I'm new to investing and looking to invest over long term. I was wondering who are the cheapest brokers in NZ? National Bank and Directbroking both charge $30. Are they the cheapest around?

Also what's the best way to go about investing in US stocks? Some NZ brokers charge up to $150/trade in US market!! That's crazy. Which local/US broker do you guys prefer?

I just want the cheapest broker, with no frills involved. I can do my own research and portfolio management, so even if the broker doesn't offer those services it's cool with me.

Cheers

Ash

shasta
23-01-2010, 07:17 PM
Hi

I'm new to investing and looking to invest over long term. I was wondering who are the cheapest brokers in NZ? National Bank and Directbroking both charge $30. Are they the cheapest around?

Also what's the best way to go about investing in US stocks? Some NZ brokers charge up to $150/trade in US market!! That's crazy. Which local/US broker do you guys prefer?

I just want the cheapest broker, with no frills involved. I can do my own research and portfolio management, so even if the broker doesn't offer those services it's cool with me.

Cheers

Ash

I have my own issues with ASB, but ASB Securities also have the DIY servive with $30 trades.

Unlike Direct Broking, they do have stop losses etc

They do have a research section & watchlists etc

Steve
23-01-2010, 09:07 PM
Do a search for previous discussions on this topic - some of the rates may have changed, but you will get some firms to check out...

shasta
26-01-2010, 11:27 AM
I really wish ASB had O-N-O (One Cancels The Other) orders, that way we could run a stop and a target order at the same time,wow wouldn't that make life easier!

CFD providers have this so, I live in hope.

(is there some ASX rule which disallows brokers doing this?)

AA

Thats the real nuisance with ASB Sec, when they show a stop loss as being deducted from your holding.