PDA

View Full Version : New Zealand Windfarms (NWF)

Gekko
26-10-2010, 12:43 AM
Has anyone else been looking at this stock? Currently trading down due to low wholesale power prices, where they sell all of their electricity.

They are just in the process of completing their first wind farm, (Te Rere Hau Wind Farm) and I'm no expert but could they benefit from the carbon credit scheme coming into action? Something they cannot put in their financial statements yet anyway

Kees
26-10-2010, 03:19 PM
Here is some light reading before you invest,http://www.americanthinker.com/2010/02/wind_energys_ghosts_1.html

flyingfox
26-10-2010, 03:35 PM
those abandoned ones mentioned in above article were build in 80s, technology today must be improved i believe?
well I'm not expert too, just watching this share..

peat
26-10-2010, 03:35 PM
bit of a stretch relating that article to NWF surely
esp if there are no subsidies in NZ.

Kees
26-10-2010, 03:56 PM
no subsidies in NZ.not direct anyway power comp just rip you off to pay for them.

kiora
26-10-2010, 05:37 PM
Hi Gekko NZ Windfarms do generate C credits.There is nothing wrong with the concept IMHO just look at Denmark where over 20 % of their power is from wind turbines .Here is a link to Wikepedia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wind_power_in_Denmark
NWF has supposedly sorted out the issues with the NZ turbines and guarantees are in place.There is a new CEO on board that is supposedly able to sort out the issues and get the rest of the turbines up and running.They have also purchased the land the turbines are sighted,rather than lease it.Palmerston North Regional Council have tryed to limit the noise recently that is the most likely cause of the recent selling and share price drop.
There are some reasonably large shareholdings in NWF by Vector,ACC and AMP.