PDA

View Full Version : Cheapest Broker for Trading on the ASX

jnoodle
01-11-2010, 02:18 PM
Hi,

This is my first post on Share Trader.

I'm a kiwi living in australia, and I have been investing in the asx for a few years now. I have a nz family trust and I'm wanting to start investing some capital from that trust in the ASX. I plan on moving back to nz next year, so I'm guessing that creating a broking account from australia will be easier than from nz, although I could be wrong.

I'm currently using Bell Direct, which costs the greater of $15au or 0.1% for trades. I'd like to stay with Bell Direct, but unfortunately can't as all trustees need to have an australian address. I plan to keep my current Bell Direct account for my existing non-trust portfolio, so I can use their website for research etc. I have looked into directbroking.co..nz, but they seem expensive at the greater of $29 or 0.3% for each trade. So all i'm really looking for is the cheapest way to buy and sell on the ASX from NZ?

If anyone could please advise me on what options i have and any similar experiences they have had I would be most grateful.

trackers
01-11-2010, 02:25 PM
Hi jnoodle, the cheapest by far is InteractiveBrokers at $7 a trade.. But they're a p.i.t.a to fund (wire transfer or transfer share holdings) and use.

The rest that I've looked into need an Australian bank account to settle into, which is more than tricky for a non-resident...I agree that $30 a trade is not fun, which is what I currently pay (I've made just under 200 trades this year sigh)

mamos
01-11-2010, 03:09 PM
$10AUD a trade up to $10k

float
02-11-2010, 12:19 AM
Hey trackers, you might know....

Do the tax implications of using an Australian broker exceed the benefits from lower brokerage rates?

Had a quick look to see what would be the incurred taxes from whom (AUS, NZ), but had trouble finding an answer.

They are a hell of alot cheaper!

float
02-11-2010, 12:55 AM
After further research,