PDA

View Full Version : Foreign Investment Fund (FIF) taxes

Ricky99
27-02-2012, 10:49 PM
Hi - do any other kiwi's get stung with this every year and get a little peeved off by it? Was considering now whether I gift all my shares into a trust (now that gifting is "free") and then pay the revenue (FIF revenue) out to my two year old son every year so that the income gets taxed at a far lower tax rate. Anybody else trying to work out better ways of minimising their FIF exposure?

Lizard
27-02-2012, 11:19 PM
I like FIF. Don't have to worry about deciding whether I'm a trader or an investor in my intention. Tax is very low when compared to what trading in these shares would cost me.

Aaron
28-02-2012, 09:05 AM
The FIF rules were to get some tax from investments in Amercia where they don't pay much in dividends and look for capital growth. If we had a comprehensive capital gains tax we could do away with this altogether the sting might be worse though.
Ricky99 your lucky to have been stung with this every year as a lot of people would have paid nothing using the CV method during the turbulent times. If you can find a FIF investment that pays a 10% dividend you can get 5% tax free assuming it doesn't change in value from year to year.
I would check with your accountant as I think you will find an underage/minor beneficiary will be on a very high tax rate.

Snoopy
28-02-2012, 10:27 AM
Hi - do any other kiwi's get stung with this every year and get a little peeved off by it?

Yes I am peeved by the system, and I think it is intellectually flawed. However there is a legitimate legal way around it. Get your overseas exposure by buying exporters based in NZ and Australia (listed on NZX and ASX) who sell into world markets. Don't buy stuff listed outside the NZX and ASX.