PDA

View Full Version : Foreign company dividends / currency exchange

shar187
03-09-2012, 03:15 PM
I own a few shares in Australian listed companies and have a query about the dividend payment. I spoke to my bank and they advised that some companies will pay dividends converted into NZ$, some in AU$ and some will only deposit into an Australian bank account and suggested I talk to their 'sister bank' about setting up an account with them. This is my first time receiving dividends so just trying to get my head around everything.

The bank couldn't tell me whether any of the companies I hold would only use one of these options - they advised I needed to talk to someone that holds the share register or something.

I just wondered how most people deal with this. I think there is a fee (plus obviously the exchange rate costs) every time I deposit a foreign currency cheque to my bank - maybe $25 or something and for say an AU$200 dividend, that could be a lot of fees. The 'sister bank' has sent me the forms for setting up an account with them and told me for now there are no transaction fees but this option still seems like a bit of a hassle.

BTW - I do hold a foreign currency account with the same bank so that I can buy and sell shares and only pay the conversion rate onces but my bank advised that I couldn't get dividends directly to that account as it is an only transfer account only.

Any thoughts/imput would be much appreciated

Jay
03-09-2012, 03:30 PM
Welcome to Sharetrader
There was a similar question to this awhile back shar.
If I recall correctly, companies cannot force you to open an account for the receipt of dividends.
Some will credit a NZ Bank account directly, CBA was one from memory, some will send a cheque or credit an Aus based account