PDA

View Full Version : Stockbroker or hourly rate service?

mieese
09-10-2012, 11:13 AM
I am new to share trading. I have bought a few stocks and feel confident doing this myself, but I would like some professional advice say once every 6 months while I am still learning.

1. Is there any New Zealand company providing buy, sell, hold advice via a subscribed service or on an hourly rate basis?

2. Is there any New Zealand company that provides research I could subscribe to?

JBmurc
09-10-2012, 11:46 AM
IMHO your find some really great advice right on here ..just ask away ...but don't expect others to do all the work i.e study of the companies reports etc ...the best why to get better at investing is through putting in the hours of study yourself ...many books on the subject

Of course you could pay for a NZ Analyst firm for a subscribed news letter etc....if you think that would help ...https://www.asbsecurities.co.nz/ good free service I use sometimes

Vaygor1
08-01-2013, 03:35 AM
Regarding the trading of shares, brokers only get income on brokerage. For that they need to broker a deal (ie no deal, no income). For that they need a buyer and a seller to meet in the middle (preferably a buyer and a seller who are both their clients as they get double that way).

If the broker that is advising you is the same one that will make a buck only if the deal goes through, then that is a direct conflict of interest... and unfortunately that is almost always the case for most members of Joe Public.

You will receive no compensation for a poor (or disastrous) outcome after following an advisors advice.

Take what you want out of the advice someone gives you and then go get some more. Learn. Do your own research. It's your money, not theirs.

This is my advice; both SparkyTheClown and JBmurc have offered you good advice too.

mieese
30-01-2013, 01:46 PM
Thank you all for your advice. I have subscribed to ASB securities and remain broker-less.

noodles
06-02-2013, 10:10 PM