PDA

View Full Version : Greetings

Shall0w
09-05-2013, 12:08 PM
Hello all, been lurking without an account reading up for several months now and decided to join so I can learn more and hopefully contribute to the discussions. For now I'll probably just be asking newbie questions..

Very new to the Share game, hold TEL currently for about 2 years now and just bought some MRP as well. Hoping to do some analysis and branch out into a 3rd + 4th stock to diversify a bit.

Currently reading a book by Martin Hawes that was recommended on here and have the Intelligent Investor next (tried this about a year ago but didn't have the time to really digest it due to a newborn in the family!).

Anyway that's my intro

Cheers
Sam

Banksie
09-05-2013, 12:17 PM
Hi Sam, Welcome to sharetrader, I am a newbie too - still feeling my way around. Which Martin Hawes book are you reading?

Shall0w
09-05-2013, 12:26 PM
Hi, the book is called Get Rich, Stay Rich - it was recommended to someone in one of the older newbie threads. Got it from trademe for about $7 there are several copies at that price. Halfway through and it isn't groundbreaking stuff but its easy reading and the core strategy is in line with my goals (make money, live off said money comfortably later in life).

BIRMANBOY
09-05-2013, 12:32 PM
Hey there..welcome to the jungle. TEL has been a stellar performer for me and I wish you well with your investing. Lots of differing views and methods on here but remember do what works for you is priority and not what worked for someone else. Diversify is good and with a new family dont bet the family silver on "Its gonna be the biggest gainer ever..guaranteed". Good investing to you...notice not good luck...never rely on luck! Succesfull investment is about learning, research, study and making your mistakes small