PDA

View Full Version : Option Trading

omad
19-06-2013, 02:31 AM
Is anyone trading options?

I'm an active option trader and happy to discuss if anyone is interested.

blackcap
19-06-2013, 10:54 AM
On which markets are you trading and what platforms are you using? I presume its not NZ as we do not have an options market.

omad
19-06-2013, 03:44 PM
I trade the US market through Interactive Brokers, I use their platform Trader Work Station.

I don't follow the NZ market at all, I remember reading years ago they were going to introduce options but I guess it never happened. Even if they did have options in NZ the lack of liquidity would make them hard to trade.

omad
19-06-2013, 03:49 PM
Looks like they are going to introduce options here, a quick google search found this:

https://www.nzx.com/Derivatives

lou
19-06-2013, 08:41 PM
How would you describe your strategy for trading options?
Do you have other investments?
Do you do it full time?
What type of options do you trade?
What volume do you do?
What fees do you pay?

omad
20-06-2013, 02:47 AM
I sell premium and my trading is based on probabilities – as far as what specific option strategy I use it all depends on volatility.

No other investments outside my trading account, I'm a trader not a long term investor. I also trade futures and shares although shares are always a part of an option position.

My trading is about 80% of my total income, I plan on making it 100% next year. I'm always in front of the screen for market opening and then it depends on what's happening in the market as to how much time I spend, if there is some action I'll stay till market close but if nothing is going on I'll go back to bed for a few hours then be back for the close.

I trade options on equities and ETFs mainly, I sell some futures options occasionally to defend a position that has gone against me. I have a watch list of about 45 stocks & ETFs that have liquid options and mainly trade them.