PDA

View Full Version : Hello World

bmrm
05-08-2013, 11:02 AM
Hello all, I thought I would come and introduce myself. I've been trading (investing?) for a while but am looking to get a bit more serious about it and take a few more risks. I work in finance though nothing to do with stocks.

Most recently I've bought into WYN at (my first) IPO. Otherwise pretty standard (I'm guessing) institutional stocks, I'm also invested in a PIE fund dealing mainly in debt-securities and otherwise cash.

I also enjoy and have had a bot of success punting with alternative investments, iPredict, Bitcoin etc, but essentially just for fun and at the 'play-money' level.

CJ
06-08-2013, 05:21 AM
Welcome.

WYN had an interesting start but it is now heading in the right direction. Hopefully they follow the success of DIL and XRO before them.

I assume you are young (bit coin investment) so wonder why you have debt securities? Is that a big part of your portfolio and do you expect that to change as you grow in confidence with equities? Or are you expecting a correction in the market?

bmrm
06-08-2013, 12:38 PM
wonder why you have debt securities? Is that a big part of your portfolio and do you expect that to change as you grow in confidence with equities? Or are you expecting a correction in the market?

Hi, they're not a big part of my portfolio, I've held them for some time, and yes that probably will change. At the moment I guess my approach is towards higher risk in terms of stocks, and balancing that with low risk in other investments.

CJ
06-08-2013, 12:52 PM