PDA

View Full Version : Hello from a newbie - some questions also

ratsinvest
11-11-2013, 02:55 PM
Hi,

Complete newbie here.

All my life I've been working and putting money in the bank. I've dabbled in a bit of property but haven't really had much luck. I am interested in investing in shares but I want to invest in US shares as they are the ones

I have some questions and was hoping you guys could help me:

1) What is the best way for buying and selling US shares? I've searched this forum and also googled and I see there are some online options available. I am interested in what ANZ offers but their costs seem a bit high. Are there other options?

2) If I was to purchase some shares and the next day they went up significantly and I wsold would I then have to pay tax on my profit? Example buy $1000 shares, next day shares are worth $1800 and I sell. Would I pay tax on the $800?

3) Are dividends taxed?

4) I am particularly interested in finding the next Apple stock, aren't we all? :-) Any advice on how one spots the next Apple stock? ;-)

5) Any tips and strategies for the first time share trader?

6) Any obviously glaring mistakes not to make?

These are all complete newbie questions so any help is much appreciated.

Thanks!

blackcap
11-11-2013, 03:55 PM
Hi,

Complete newbie here.

All my life I've been working and putting money in the bank. I've dabbled in a bit of property but haven't really had much luck. I am interested in investing in shares but I want to invest in US shares as they are the ones

1) What is the best way for buying and selling US shares? I've searched this forum and also googled and I see there are some online options available. I am interested in what ANZ offers but their costs seem a bit high. Are there other options?

Good question. I have Euro account but can have one due to citizinship there. Some of the Australian brokers may offer a better service than the NZ ones.