PDA

View Full Version : Newbie checkin' in

axe
25-11-2013, 12:23 AM
Hello everyone, :)

I am new to the forums here and I'm also a newbie to investing in shares.

This year I participated in the MRP and MEL IPOs . I missed out on the AIR selldown due to not having a broker ( in the process of setting up now )

The biggest questions I am mulling over is adding to my portfolio and diversifying.

As I am young(ish) I have the luxury of looking to invest long term.

born2invest
25-11-2013, 09:42 AM

This year I participated in the MRP and MEL IPOs . I missed out on the AIR selldown due to not having a broker ( in the process of setting up now )

The biggest questions I am mulling over is adding to my portfolio and diversifying.

Why did you decide on MRP and MEL as opposed to alternative investments?

Harvey Specter
25-11-2013, 09:53 AM
This year I participated in the MRP and MEL IPOsBummer. I did as well but why did you choose to buy into both given you have no other investments? Are you planning on diversefiying?

Have you set any goals and rules for how you will invest? Trader/long term hold. Growth/yeild/speculative/value/hybrid?

BIRMANBOY
25-11-2013, 04:39 PM
Welcome and wish you well....reading various threads will expose you to every possible type of investor and investing so good learning. With a lifetime of investing in front of you take your time and get educated.

axe
25-11-2013, 05:18 PM
Bummer. I did as well but why did you choose to buy into both given you have no other investments? Are you planning on diversefiying?

Have you set any goals and rules for how you will invest? Trader/long term hold. Growth/yeild/speculative/value/hybrid?

I participated in both MRP and MEL because of the North / South split between the two companies.
They should perform well over the time period that I intend to hold them (20+ years) .

born2invest
26-11-2013, 10:12 AM
I participated in both MRP and MEL because of the North / South split between the two companies.