PDA

View Full Version : Last Trades of the Week to Plunge Price?

shonen knife
18-01-2014, 04:14 PM
Hi,

I am new to trading and am quite interested in the psychological/game aspect of it.

I noticed yesterday (Friday) at the end of trading that a few shares dropped dramatically towards the end of trading. I don't think the results on NZX.com are real-time, but around closing time the lowest offer seemed to be quite a bit lower than the highest bid (could have been a glitch or me reading it incorrectly). For example, you can see Telecom rise to 2.47 and finally close at 2.36, and it drops off very quickly between 430-5pm. Looking at some earlier Telecom results it seems to drop off on Friday a few times before picking up on Monday.

Is this a case of people selling a smaller amount off at a lower price on Fridays so that they can buy a larger amount on Monday on the cheap? Seems a bit dodge, but possible since the trade volumes are quite low in NZ.

Or is it rather people setting a Friday deadline to sell and will take whatever they can get?

Or perhaps it is just how it sometimes goes?

steve fleming
18-01-2014, 04:45 PM
Hi,

I am new to trading and am quite interested in the psychological/game aspect of it.

I noticed yesterday (Friday) at the end of trading that a few shares dropped dramatically towards the end of trading. I don't think the results on NZX.com are real-time, but around closing time the lowest offer seemed to be quite a bit lower than the highest bid (could have been a glitch or me reading it incorrectly). For example, you can see Telecom rise to 2.47 and finally close at 2.36, and it drops off very quickly between 430-5pm. Looking at some earlier Telecom results it seems to drop off on Friday a few times before picking up on Monday.