PDA

View Full Version : the king buys postie plus

Nuts
11-03-2014, 04:41 PM
Todays press release seems to offer somehope for ppg. Im no expert but it looks better.what do others think ?

percy
11-03-2014, 07:02 PM
Judgement day put off until July.They will need a good cold spell to boast sales.
"A significant net loss for year to 3 August 2014." [which will be less than last year's $10.6mil].
The bank "has reserved its rights in relation to historical covenant breaches," means Postie are trading at the mercy of their bank.
Richard Binns is certainly going to have to prove he can improve not only margins,but greatly increase both revenue and show a profit.Will be near impossible to achieve against competition from a wounded Hallensteins,an aggressive Farmers and a better focussed Warehouse.In a word "difficult."At some time the bank is going to want its money.
This could turn out to be the last new thread for ;"the king buys postie plus."!!!

percy
11-03-2014, 08:45 PM
Hi Karlos,
Nothing to do with PPG,however I remember going on a fishing trip once, and the hotel we were staying at had just gone into receivership.The waitress took our breakfast orders,then had to check with the receiver,no, six of you will have to have sausages and eggs as there is not enough bacon for all of you to have.!!
Can't remember if we caught enough fish for dinner!!!

macduffy
12-03-2014, 09:31 AM
So the postie will deliver a lower loss this year. No details at this stage of course but I'm wondering what or whether there will be a profit from the sale of Schooltex contributing to this "improved" result? We know that the business was sold for $9m but I've not seen any mention of a profit or loss on the transaction. Incidentally, the proceeds were to be used to reduce borrowing - so that probably explains the bank's current forebearance regarding covenant breaches.

percy
13-03-2014, 07:38 AM
Just loved the "so am unable to assist" and recommending your previous boss.! Classic.