PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Wanting Advice

dagdaniel1
21-05-2014, 06:03 PM
Hey, I'm a complete newbie to this, only just found this site a week ago and it has been very helpful. I'm currently a student studying commerce at Victoria Uni and I've been thinking about purchasing shares into a retirement home company - MET, SUM or RYM. This was mainly due to the fact that "New Zealand has an ageing population" coming up in class, over the last few years, often. I did some research into those three companies and discovered that I liked Ryman the best. Got close to purchasing the shares in January but pussied out. I am now ready to but the shares, but the market over the past few days has scared me off a little.

Basically, I was wondering if investing into Ryman was still worth it? I'm looking at investing around $1000, as that's all I have, and mainly looking at around 5 of investment.

Joshuatree
21-05-2014, 07:26 PM
Hi DD. RYM has been the star performer and has been priced for perfection so has overrun value wise imo.It has hit new highs and gone back two or three times now Some think if it holds re $8.22 that may be a good time to buy. I have sold down two thirds plus and intend to buy some MET and maybe some SUM on price dips/mkt corrections. My broker has a sell on RYM with a $7.73 valn. A hold on MET with a $4.59 valn a hold on SUM with a valn of $3.60. Read the threads theres lots of good posta and varying opinions. If you're set on RYM wait till it starts trending up again rather than trying to catch a falling knife(it may keep dropping after you've boughT). Good luck and DYOR JT

percy
21-05-2014, 09:42 PM
I think Joshuatree has given you very good advice.
The retirement sector has been "the hot sector" to be in.
Shares overshoot and undershoot.At present prices this sector appears to have "overshot".
Just keep you money in the bank at present.Watch and read.Time is on your side.

dagdaniel1
21-05-2014, 11:00 PM