PDA

View Full Version : Using equity to purchase second home

milt1968
29-06-2014, 07:15 PM
I have been doing some research into using equity to purchase a second home or investment property.

What are peoples opinions on this?

Also, what do you think the best type of home loan is?

T

Harvey Specter
30-06-2014, 08:15 AM
If you mean equity in an existing home, its easy to do and banks will almost require a cross guarantee anyway (unless you use different banks).

Best type of home loan - depends. Where do you think interest rates will go. Can you negotiate a good discount of the blackboard rates?

milt1968
30-06-2014, 09:31 AM
I am currently a student at university. I have about 80% deposit on a good house. Am just trying to set up a rough plan for when I graduate.

I want to have a house and also another rental property ASAP.

I am just trying to find the best way to go about this.

From what I understand, if I purchase the first house with 80% deposit, the bank can usethat equity from the first place to lend on the second.

Is this correct?

Thanks for the help.

T

Fred114
30-06-2014, 09:34 AM
Talk to the bank.....they will answer your question.....

milt1968
30-06-2014, 09:37 AM
Talk to the bank.....they will answer your question.....

Im not going to go the effort of going into the bank when things could potentially change significantly in the next 2-3 years.

Looking for peoples opinions or experiences, as above.

Fred114
30-06-2014, 09:49 AM
What is the significant change you see happening in the next 2-3 years?

iceman
30-06-2014, 10:06 AM
I am currently a student at university. I have about 80% deposit on a good house. Am just trying to set up a rough plan for when I graduate.

I want to have a house and also another rental property ASAP.

I am just trying to find the best way to go about this.

From what I understand, if I purchase the first house with 80% deposit, the bank can usethat equity from the first place to lend on the second.

Is this correct?