PDA

View Full Version : Ridiculous fees charged by ASB securities

zb3
22-07-2014, 03:21 PM
I'm relatively new to share trading, but i signed up to ASB securities and purchased about 10,500 worth of VTS on the ASX.

I then log into my account and find I have essentially been charged a margin of 3% for the currency conversion. How ridiculous is that?

On the rates and fees part of the website it says Aus trades cost 0.3% then down the bottom in small writing it says ASB MAY receive margin income on foreign exchange transactions - but gives no indication of the cost.

People trade currency all the time and pay like 2 pip or 3 dollarsish on a 10k transaction, no way in hell did i think i would incur a 300 dollar fee. Now this investment will have to outperform an NZ investment by 3% for me to get any worth from it.

Has anyone had a similar experience to this? How do you avoid these ridiculous fees if you wish to trade on international markets?

Jay
22-07-2014, 04:20 PM
I have an AUD based FX account with them via ASB securities, only have to initially fund the account then can settle any buy/sell to the AUD account.
No matter who you are with, if you are transferring from NZ to AUD and back will cost you plenty, you are effectively trading the currency as well as the share to an extent

OldRider
22-07-2014, 04:43 PM
Make sure you don't pay again, probably you will hold the shares you bought for the long term, so in 10 years or more it won't look so bad.
If you do sell make sure the funds remain in $AU. The advice of KW sounds good to me. It is possible to arrange these things from here in NZ
, somewhere on the forum this has been discussed before. Don't believe anyone who says it can't, just find someone who knows how.
It does take a while with form filling in and certification.

zb3
22-07-2014, 04:46 PM