PDA

View Full Version : My Problem with Market Beta

samdaman
07-08-2014, 08:22 PM
So I've been doing a bit of research on the ole beta metric. I've been looking at it in respect to TTK.NZ and well the results are puzzling. I started by checking a few sites for beta values and they returned varying results. As an engineer I get really unsettled by something like this when mathematically this value should constant. But is it really a constant?

I then tried calculating my own by getting historical prices from yahoo of the nzx50 and TTK for the last give or take 5 years. I used my handy dandy programming skills to take values out that coincide with yahoos data missing pieces so I had a perfect representation of the changes between the index and the stock. I was really looking forward to getting my a mathematically stable beta I could use to model this stock (big fan of models, engineer showing again).

And to my dissapointment i get the trivial value of 0.16 that makes sense though a correlation isn't going to last 4 years. but how long will a certain beta last then? well a few different calcs only returned non trivial results of periods of about 30 - 60 days.

My question is then why would I want to use a beta associated valuation on a stock that I intend to hold for longer than that? It makes sense a company can do good or bad in a market travelling the other way. I'm currently looking at beta as more of an indicator for chart patterns than a valid metric at the moment.

In a nutshell. Whats so important about beta?

Cheers Guys
Sam

blackcap
08-08-2014, 08:15 AM
Hi Sam,

I have always been puzzled by the whole CAPM theory as it contrasts the EMH which states that you cannot predict the future of stock prices from past (historic) info. Why would Beta be any different? I mean all the correlations and math used to formulate Beta is taken from past pricing. So why should this Beta apply to a stock in the future?

samdaman
08-08-2014, 09:46 AM