PDA

View Full Version : Forex Trading Laws in New Zealand.

Thos
31-08-2014, 04:28 PM
Hi there,

Can someone clarify the legal issues around trading for friends?

Also is there a difference legally between trading for offshore clients or local clients?

At what point is a trader forced to apply to be a Broker to remain within the law.

I have been dabbling for about 5 years, and now have a system for manual trading good enough to earn a good return but I find it hard to get good answers about how regulated things are, what you can legally do and what you cant.

Many Thanks for any comments.

Thos.

stoploss
01-09-2014, 04:42 PM
Not sure about the legal ins and outs . However trading for friends is very risky . You can't win all the time and they don't understand trading losses , so you risk losing your friends .
If you are making a good return , with the leverage available in FX you will be able to build up a sizeable bankroll in a short time . So no need to take friends money in and risk their cash and your friendship .

Thos
02-09-2014, 06:13 AM
Hi there,

So far 70 odd views and only one reply - very puzzling.

Having a portfolio of clients would seem to me to be quite reasonable...

Are traders doing this informally and staying under the radar?

Have I raised a topic no one wants to talk about?

Has no one really cracked the beast, so they have nothing to offer?

When I talk to "Officialdom" they seem to classify FOREX as FUTURES and want a sizeable fee to become a registered Broker if you start trading for others.

What is going on... ???

Cheers,

Thos.

Jay
02-09-2014, 07:50 AM
Would you be classed an as adviser and come under FMA rules?? But may get away with it if all under your own name, however, still need to look out for what stop loss has said.

It is not a similar way to how PIE funds started??

Thos
02-09-2014, 10:55 AM
Hi there,

Thanks Stoploss and Jay for your responses.