sharetrader

Default Favourite currency pairs

Hiya

I'm new to this FOREX lark. Would anyone on this forum divulge their favourite currency pair for FOREX trading and most importantly, why it is their favourite?

I await your reseponces with anticipation..

Cheers

Glendoonie

Senior Member Toulouse - Luzern's Avatar

Smile My quest for the Perfect FX Pair du jour

Hi Glendoonie,

As no one else has responded so far here is my opener ...

Firstly there must be something in the Wellington air...

I confess to the occasional FX lark myself with an affinity for evaluation of "mad scientist" like concepts.

Conventional wisdom is EURUSD as a recommended favourite pair.

Widely traded
    Narrow spreads (usually)
    Volatility
    Big moves often
    Reversals
    Trading opportunities based on TA
    Availability of news, analysis and trader opinion (often best ignored as out of date by the time you read and respond to it)
    Huge initial changes to news eg Non Farm Payrolls, Fed or Euro Bank interest rates announcements on live tv, or minutes

Sometimes EURUSD can be flat ...

I currently do not have a permanent favorite FX pair.

It changes.

I have a contingent or it all depends on the data approach.

I believe DYOR.

My mad scientist moment is a quest for the perfect FX pair du jour.

I prefer a dynamic approach reflecting the market, right now.

This approach is not without risk, as things can change.

As an analogy in rugby/NRL/EPL type competitions it is easy to identify a top of the table team and the bottom of the table team.

Simplistically most often the top of the table team does better than the bottom of the table team.

The "Toulouse favourite pair" (TFP) of top of the table/bottom of the table is my optimal pair. No extended analysis is required as secondary sources may be used to identify the table positions at the current time.

Continuum

Top of the table......... Bottom
    ------------------------------------------
    #1 #2 #3 #4 #5 #6 #7 #8