sharetrader
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Share club starting out - your wisdom please

Hi all,

Myself and a group of 5 close friends are in the early stages of forming a share investment club.
    It will begin with a small upfront payment ($500-1000 each perhaps), followed by monthly deposits of approximately $100.

For those of you out there who have been/are involved with a share club, do you have any pearls of wisdom to know when starting out?
    Would you recommend starting a company or a trust?
    Would you recommend having a constitution or deed drafted, and does anyone have an example deed/constitution available?

Cheers!

You may be close friends now.....good luck. I have difficulty persuading myself to do something let alone attempt that on 4 other people. I have no personal experience but have talked in the past with people who were involved. General consensus (well 2 opinions anyway) was unproductive because of different risk thresholds, different levels of knowledge, different financial circumstances etc.etc etc. I believe they drafted some sort of constitution which they all agreed on. This was in the US not NZ however so best do some research or buy an hour from an accountant.
    Quote Originally Posted by heisenberg View Post
    Hi all,

Myself and a group of 5 close friends are in the early stages of forming a share investment club.
    It will begin with a small upfront payment ($500-1000 each perhaps), followed by monthly deposits of approximately $100.

For those of you out there who have been/are involved with a share club, do you have any pearls of wisdom to know when starting out?
    Would you recommend starting a company or a trust?
    Would you recommend having a constitution or deed drafted, and does anyone have an example deed/constitution available?

Cheers!
    www.dividendyield.co.nz
    Conservative Investing and dividend producers...get rich slowly!
    https://www.facebook.com/dividendyieldnz