sharetrader

Default Newbie question - lump sum investment

Hi all,

Total newbie here so please excuse any faux pas, errors, omissions etc.

I have a windfall of around $500k coming to me later this year. I'm 46 and want to invest this to create a living wage for me when I reach around 50-52. I.e. I want to be able to generate about $60k per annum of passive income without affecting the value of my initial investment. I earn about $150k per year currently and can add approx. $50k per year of cash into this investment over the next 6 years. I'm also due another $150k windfall in about 4 years. I don't own a property and am looking to travel extensively once I reach 50-52 so can handle not having a property.

Any advice would be appreciated, including experts I might be able to speak within NZ. I've done a fair bit of research but the info I've found is very US biased.

Thanks in advance, please ask if you need more info.

R
    Last edited by Noyzyboy; 25-07-2017 at 10:17 AM.

Veteran novice

The first point to appreciate is that "without affecting the value of my investment" implies making a risk-free investment for a risk-free return. There was a time when AAA rated sovereign bonds were regarded as such but these days, who knows? Assuming they still are, you would receive a return closer to 2% than the 12% sought. I think you need to revisit the risk/return question to determine the degree of risk that you are comfortable with.

Not sure whether you need advice when you have $500K to start with But yes, decide on what risk you can bear first for that 60K passive is very doable or even small having that much money to start with. GL.

Quote Originally Posted by Noyzyboy View Post
    Hi all,