sharetrader
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Rental!

Default First Rental!

Hello,

I've been looking to get into the property market to complement my other investments. I've done the numbers on owning my own home and the investment potential in Auckland seems horrible once all costs are factored in. I was advised to buy rentals which stack up as better investments until I have equity for my own home.

So I'm going to look for some property, however I'm new to the property world and don't know the ins and outs and catches I should look for before buying. I was hoping some experienced property investors could help with my questions below.

- What types of properties have the best capital appreciation I can't find info on the capital gains by property type i.e flats, apartments, freehold sections etc. I don't want to over estimate this value in my calculations.
    - Costs for buying and selling property like realtor and legal fees. I've never bought a house so I don't know how much fees to account for.
    - Any other traps for new players.

Any and all advice is much appreciated.

Regards,

Legend

Quote Originally Posted by samdaman View Post
    Hello,

I've been looking to get into the property market to complement my other investments. I've done the numbers on owning my own home and the investment potential in Auckland seems horrible once all costs are factored in. I was advised to buy rentals which stack up as better investments until I have equity for my own home.

So I'm going to look for some property, however I'm new to the property world and don't know the ins and outs and catches I should look for before buying. I was hoping some experienced property investors could help with my questions below.

- What types of properties have the best capital appreciation I can't find info on the capital gains by property type i.e flats, apartments, freehold sections etc. I don't want to over estimate this value in my calculations.