sharetrader
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bonus Bonds

Default Bonus Bonds

Does anyone still have these? I had a couple of grand a few years ago but never won a thing so took them out. Given the crappy bank deposit rates we have now, I’m wondering if I should take a chance and get a few. Don’t want to go down the term deposit route right now as there’s always a chance an emergency could mean I need quick access. Bonus Bonds can be paid out in a day according to their website.

Thoughts?
    Last edited by justakiwi; 20-11-2019 at 07:54 PM.

I manage my parents financial affairs, they have 45k in bonus bonds and do get a constant stream of wins, i have been tracking it for 5 years as they insist i do not park that money someone else..the annual returns range have been in the range 3.3-4.6 % p.a for the five years. Always expect they will have a year with a very low return..although yet to happen.

Guru

Quote Originally Posted by Raz View Post
    I manage my parents financial affairs, they have 45k in bonus bonds and do get a constant stream of wins, i have been tracking it for 5 years as they insist i do not park that money someone else..the annual returns range have been in the range 3.3-4.6 % p.a for the five years. Always expect they will have a year with a very low return..although yet to happen.
    They must have the golden touch. Current payout of bonus bonds is 1.4%
    I purchase some every month and cash in to pay my GST - six monthly. It's just a silly way to budget for the tax. My return after several years is probably less then 1%. Don't think I'll bother working it out.

Wow. That’s a heck of a lot of chances to win each month. I didn’t think anyone would have that kind of money tied up in them.

I have heard of people selling a house and using bonus bonds as a short term parking place for the money. I put 3 grand in many years ago and won 1 grand within a few months. But I have been out of them for a long time.