sharetrader
Page 1 of 13 1234511 ... LastLast

Default Dead Cat bounce?

OK, so I'm relatively new to the NZ market, investing in the NZX less than a year. It's still not clear to me how much we're driven by the US markets, but assuming there's a link (at least during Covid), should we not be calling this a Dead Cat Bounce and preparing for a re-test of the March lows? That's certainly on the cards for the US markets, especially if they've badly mis-timed their Covid 're-opening', which is likely. Will our market ignore another 20% drop in the US markets, or should we be battening down the hatches as well?

Quote Originally Posted by HKG2301 View Post
    OK, so I'm relatively new to the NZ market, investing in the NZX less than a year. It's still not clear to me how much we're driven by the US markets, but assuming there's a link (at least during Covid), should we not be calling this a Dead Cat Bounce and preparing for a re-test of the March lows? That's certainly on the cards for the US markets, especially if they've badly mis-timed their Covid 're-opening', which is likely. Will our market ignore another 20% drop in the US markets, or should we be battening down the hatches as well?
    Billion dollar question. Nobody knows.l

Guru

Quote Originally Posted by HKG2301 View Post
    Why would there be another 20% drop in US markets? Surely the best predictor of future US market prices is today's price? What do you know that all other market participants in the US do not know? Like ynot said, its really is the $m question. No one knows what tomorrow's prices will bring.
    Last edited by blackcap; 06-05-2020 at 07:51 AM. Reason: spelling

Quote Originally Posted by blackcap View Post
    Surely the best predictor of future US market prices is today's price?
    Equally as valid for 23 March and look where we are

Guru

Quote Originally Posted by Entrep View Post
    Equally as valid for 23 March and look where we are