sharetrader

Hybrid View

Default SNOW - Snowflake

Has anyone else been following this IPO?

I work in the data and analytics industry, so I've been watching the company since around 2014. Was considering getting in at their original quoted price range of $70-$80, but seeing their price rocket to $319 on day 1 has me holding back in the hope that it cools down over the next few weeks/months.

From a technology perspective, they're an exciting proposition and are paving the way for en-mass Data Warehouse migrations to the cloud - the flexibility Snowflake provides in terms of cloud providers is not currently matched by any similar offering that I am aware of. Enterprises I'm working with in NZ are either already in the process of moving to Snowflake, or see them as the only viable option for future migrations.

I will watch, wait, and continue my Snowflake training...

Guru

Quote Originally Posted by imarktu View Post
    Has anyone else been following this IPO?

I work in the data and analytics industry, so I've been watching the company since around 2014. Was considering getting in at their original quoted price range of $70-$80, but seeing their price rocket to $319 on day 1 has me holding back in the hope that it cools down over the next few weeks/months.

From a technology perspective, they're an exciting proposition and are paving the way for en-mass Data Warehouse migrations to the cloud - the flexibility Snowflake provides in terms of cloud providers is not currently matched by any similar offering that I am aware of. Enterprises I'm working with in NZ are either already in the process of moving to Snowflake, or see them as the only viable option for future migrations.

I will watch, wait, and continue my Snowflake training...
    Was thinking of it myself but need to know a few things.

1/ What is its competition.
    2/Does it have a moat.
    3/How secure are its very important employees .
    4/What is its customer base.