sharetrader
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Form a company?

Default Form a company?

Hi all,

I am still relatively new at investing and have a hoping some of you might be able to help.

I have pretty much just bought shares and sat on them and only started to sell them last year (my first shares were from the AIA listing many years back).

I have heard that if you have bought shares with the purpose of income (dividends) then you don't need to pay any capital gains tax. However, I am now thinking that I may want to buy and sell shares more often so could I be subject to this?

Should I setup a company - Is that the best structure?

Sorry, nearly forgot - I live in NZ

Thanks very much
    PM

Advanced Member

You can run two seperate accounts in your own name, one investing and one trading. Write it all out prior to the event what you intend doing. To make it easier to follow run it from different bank accounts, and brokerages. The IRD only want honesty, dont mix it up keep both accounts completely seperate. It is easier to form a company to trade, but no requirement to do so. macdunk

mate but can you have two HIN's?

Thanks Macdunk.

So what tax will i have to pay on profits?

thanks
    PM

Could you also set up an LAQC to own the shares and then claim any interest on borrowings against your income? Same way as property investors do? Only really helps if you're borrowing
    to invest

Hi Russki

I wasn't really looking at borrowing (though I will probably start looking into CFDs at some stage).

Is anyone able to let me know what tax I need to pay if I was trading?

Thanks
    PM

Guru

quote:Originally posted by pickle_master

Is anyone able to let me know what tax I need to pay if I was trading?