sharetrader
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Darryl Guppy

Default Darryl Guppy

I've just finished reading Guppy's "Trend Trading" book. Has anyone used GMMA and the techniques mentioned in this book successfully??

I'm a complete novice who has read a few books and so far this one seems to make quite a lot of sense. It doesn't look like it will provide massive returns but 20 or 30% per successful trade will suite me fine.

Any advice will be very much appreciated. Cheers.

Read a couple of his books.
    Use the GMMA as one of the explorers in Metastock to filter for stocks to look at.
    However, it can fire a little late sometimes.
    Don't usually use it as an exit - not on its own anyway as again it can be slow to fire.

He say's to use a close below the trend line, along with the GMMA, to signal an exit. He seems to favour taking "bites" from the middle of trends rather than trying to time bottoms and tops. Seems to be a fairly safe way to do things...several bites could add up to quite a bit.

He also seems to like using the count back line as a stop loss, any opinions on that?

I read about the GMMA in another book, Active investor by Alan Hull. He applies it for longer term active investing or what most people would call buy and hold and on blue chips only. He also combined it with another indicator (rate of annualised return) and used it for sell signals.

Absolute Advance on here used it for short term trading but discarded it I believe. Where are you AA?
    Disclaimer: Do not take my posts seriously. They are only opinions.

AMR has sold all shares and is pursuing property.

From what I understand Allan Hull created HMMA which is designed for weekly analysis, the GMMA by Guppy is designed for daily use. I may be wrong but that's what I've heard.

Any opinion on the use of the count back line for a stop loss?

I have found the count back line to be useful in helping to identify turning points...particularly bottoms.

Advanced Member

Default Advice.