sharetrader
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default how to raise capital for student investors?

Hi all, I've been lurking around the forum absorbing great knowledge from people.

I'm a student at Auckland University studying Architecture. But since 6th form (2006) I've been learning about sharemarket and have been investing since 2007 starting with only $1500.

I've learnt a lot of hard lessons over the past few years and made some good profit every now and then and my portfolio is now around $40000 (with $20000 of loan). However, One of my mistakes was in FPA when it was hanging at around $0.80. Including several other long term investments, I have around 65% of my portfolio locked up or I will suffer an 25% loss on the value my total portfolio.

I'm 21 years old, so I have a high risk tolerence. I can/ have seen my portfolio drop 50% without lossing my nerves. Although I have not followed finance related careers, I have educated myself extensively on sharemarket and everything relating to it. I am very much a foundamental trader, but use technical to make entry/ exit choices. I have tried and used all kinds of techniques over the years, and developed and refined my own strategy.

Apart from study, I have a permanent part-time job 20 hours per week. I can pretty much use that to support myself and use interest free loans for investment (student loan and bank overdrafts). As I can only utilise around $10,000 at the moment, I can't help but wondering how can I increase my investment capital?

My first dilemma is should I take a 25% decrease in my portfolio value in order to have more liquidity? It will mean all the profit I've made in the past few years will be broke even.